"> Local Governments in Lagos | My Postal Code

Local Governments in Lagos

Local Governments in Lagos – In this article, we’ll be high lightning the 20 local governments in Lagos state alphabetically and their wards, the richest as well as the oldest of all the LGAs in Lagos.

Local Governments in Lagos

Despite a landmass of about 3,577 km Square, Lagos is regarded as the largest state in Nigeria, obviously not because of this land mass, but as a result of its staggering population of over 22 million people.

To put it more bluntly, approximately 1/7th of the entire Nigerian populace have practically ‘Sardined’ themselves in its smallest state (and I’m one of them).

Lagos state is geographically situated in the southwestern part of Nigeria and is divided into 5 administrative zones. These zones are further divided into the 20 Local Government Areas we’ve come to know, love and call our own.

20 Local Governments areas in Lagos state

  1. Alimosho LGA
  2. Ajeromi-Ifelodun LGA
  3. Kosofe LGA
  4. Mushin LGA
  5. Oshodi-Isolo LGA
  6. Ojo LGA
  7. Ikorodu LGA
  8. Surulere LGA
  9. Agege LGA Postal
  10. Ifako-Ijaiye LGA
  11. Somolu LGA
  12. Amuwo-Odofin LGA
  13. Lagos Mainland LGA
  14. Ikeja LGA
  15. Eti-Osa LGA
  16. Apapa LGA
  17. Lagos Island LGA
  18. Epe LGA
  19. Ibeju-Lekki LGA
  20. Badagry LGA

Out of this 20, 16 LGAs are considered as “Metropolitan Lagos” while 4 namely, Badagry, Ikorodu, Ibeju-Lekki, and Epe, though integral parts of the state, are considered as non-metropolitan Lagos.